15 Years – Graduate Jewellers at DJCAD

IMG_2661  IMG_2665

Merlin Planterose, Lady Grange Collection

Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art and Design held an exhibition called 15 Years, exhibiting works by Scottish jewellery design graduates from the past fifteen years. This was held on the last few days of Scottish Jewellery Week. I was lucky to be able to see my allocated jeweller’s work in person; Merlin Planterose displayed select pieces from her Lady Grange Collection. The fine chain she makes by hand really fascinated me, the skill and intricacy is quite stunning. This style is very different to my own practice but her heavy-handed process and obsession with texture have me inspired to approach my own works in a similar way.

IMG_2667

Mariko Sumioka

Mariko Sumioka is another jeweller from the 15 Years exhibition that I am interested in. Her use of colour is very simple and the blemishes in the enamel really appeal to me. I love collage jewellery and Mariko achieves such a clean and fashionable form. Her contemporary style has a sophisticated way of connecting precious and non-precious materials.

Leave a Reply

