Bruises

bruisesforppt

Bruises fascinate me. They are typically considered ugly, but I find their varying colours, shapes and contours quite beautiful. These photos of bruises are from my body, and from friends and family- I must admit, when I visually research bruises that belong to strangers, the sight of some appear gross and gruesome to me. This mix of reactions is interesting and will allow me to approach my work and experimentation from several angles.

Bruises are, in a way, adornments the body generates organically after impact. I want to investigate and communicate that the body is not as fragile as some may think. We can take hard blows to the body and will not be left in pieces.

Leave a Reply

