Laser Engraving

Scan 15 Scan 14Scan 12 Scan 5

I happened to find sheets of neoprene that resemble the colours of bruises and then experimented with them. I previously posted photos of neoprene that I heat-moulded with a torch and made into brooches, here I have engraved sketches and scans of bruises into the material using the laser cutter. This machine really loves neoprene! These pieces refer back to Merlin Planterose’s heavy use of texture in her works, but with my own approach. I am so happy with the result, I can see the marks in the neoprene as marks on the skin- cuts and and blemishes, as well as scabs and grazes. I feel stuck with this technique though, and have experimented further by pressing polymer clay onto the pieces to pick up the lines and textures to bring the images into a 3D format.

IMG_3374  IMG_3553

The detail of the impressions is really beautiful and works quite well with production pieces. I don’t feel that these works are challenging enough and they do not carry my concept as far as I would like them to. I need to keep pushing my idea of bruises as adornment to a place that is original and gets people to consider bruises as beautiful additions to the body.

 

Leave a Reply

