We Are Not Made of Glass

The other day when chatting to my boyfriend he said something that stuck with me- ‘we are not made of glass’. He thinks that everyone should play at least one game of rugby in their lives to prove this to themselves. That’s not going to happen, but it made me think how true this statement is. Our bodies can take force without breaking (to an extent), where bruises and wounds are left behind as evidence. This simple comment has encouraged me, it has brought new ways to approach my existing concept and articulates the developing theme perfectly.

IMG_3599

Above is a black and white photocopy of my hand printed bruises. I have traced around the different tones creating layers that show a very different side to the bruises. I am seeing these images as cracked glass and really enjoy the exaggerated contours of the line.

Leave a Reply

